France 2000
In the summer of the year 2000 Jackie and Graham went to France.
This is the route they took across France and, in more detail, in the Massif Central.
Map of France with our itinerary
Day One Wednesday 28 June 2000 London to Rouen via the Channel Tunnel; 
Hotel Novotel Rouen Sud
Day Two Thursday 29 June 2000 Rouen to Saumur - lunch at Chai l'Abbaye, at Les Brosses, near Alençon; drive round the road circuit of Le Mans; here is a picture of the Hotel Anne d'Anjou, and one of the Chateau in Saumur
Day Three Friday 30 June 2000 Saumur to Limoges - castle at Montreille-Bellay; Futuroscope at Poitiers; Tour de France preparations; Hotel Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Day Four Saturday 1 July 2000 Limoges to St Nectaire - lunch at Ussel; 
views over Massif Central
Hotel Mercure Relais Les Bains Romains
Day Five Sunday 2 July 2000 A day of rest in St Nectaire
Day Six Monday 3 July 2000 St Nectaire to Volvic - views over the castle at Murol; Puy de Dôme; Hotel La Rose des Vents
Day Seven Tuesday 4 July 2000 Volvic to Salers - lunch at Orcival; trips over mountains with stops for photographs at various places, including Col d'Eylac and the Pas de Peyrol, and then on the way down to Hotel le Baillage.
Day Eight Wednesday 5 July 2000 Salers to Moulins - early morning photographs
climb up Puy Mary at Col du Pas de Peyrol; 
lunch at Massiac; straight roads lined with sunflowers; autoroute to Moulins, ancient seat of the Bourbon Kings of France, and the Hotel du Paris
Day Nine Thursday 6 July 2000 Moulins to Epernay - concerted driving all day and no pictures - we went cross country to Tonnerre, took the autoroute to Epernay; skirting round the city to the Hostellerie la Briqueterie
Day Ten Friday 7 July 2000 We visited a champagne house: Cellier Mercier.  Then we went home, taking the wine route to the autoroute at Rheims, the autoroute to Calais, the  Chunnel and the motorway to London